This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Iceland

Iceland is made up of 8 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Iceland. Information on all primary administrative regions in Iceland.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Iceland alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Iceland

There are 8 regions in Iceland in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Iceland
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Capital Region Höfuðborgarsvæði1.209,680Reykjavik Reykjavík118,918
East Austurland2.15,300Egilsstadir Egilsstaðir2,303
Northeast Norðurland Eystra3.28,618Akureyri Akureyri17,693
Northwest Norðurland Vestra4.7,810Saudarkrokur Sauðárkrókur2,575
South Suðurland5.23,311Selfoss Selfoss6,510
Southern Peninsula Suðurnes6.20,300Keflavik Keflavík-
West Vesturland7.15,300Borgarnes Borgarnes1,759
Westfjords Vestfirðir8.7,300Isafjoerdur Ísafjörður2,624